top of page

Once again, time for a Short Film Showcase!

Hey, hey TTM aficionados!

This week we’re taking a moment to showcase a number of short films that have struck us here recently. For this installment, Ryan chose the films. Next time will be Josh’s turn :)

Ryan: First off, I’ve got three shorts I want to share with you. All three of the shorts came about from me researching either new cameras or new techniques and wanting to see what they could do.

So with that said, here’s my first choice: It’s “The One”, directed by Lukas Schuler and DP’d by Frank Glencairn. There’s two reasons I found this short… one, I was looking for footage taken via the Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera (which this short was shot on) and two, Frank Glencairn’s posts on the BMD Forum as entertaining and informative, which lead me to his site and lead me to this video. Warning: There is a brief section that’s not appropriate for kids (Hint: It’s a magazine cover).

Watch The One here.

Second choice is a foreign film titled “Sleeping With The Enemy”, which everything was done by Blaise Villars. Found this on the Digital Bolex forums (if you can’t tell, I lurk on a lot of camera boards) and was blown away by the look. Even though I don’t understand a lick of what they’re saying, the film itself still moved me… and considering this was done in just 6 hrs, it’s amazing it turned out as well as it did.

Watch Sleeping With The Enemy here.

My final choice is the short titled “Colour Girl”. And like the previous film, virtually all of it was done by one guy, Ben Daure. As someone who loves the rotoscope technique, this caught my eye as I was doing research into the technique… and this is some seriously amazing work! I believe Ben when he said it took him 3 months to get it all done, as some of the stuff he had to rotoscope had to be a nightmare. But it’s a good nightmare, ’cause I love the final product :)

Watch “Colour Girl” here.

And that does it for this week! See you in two :D

Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • wordpress-icon.png
  • Twitter Classic
  • YouTube Classic
  • Vimeo Classic
bottom of page